East Midlands law firm celebrates national award win

Dianne Collins

Leading East Midlands-based law firm Nelsons is celebrating after scooping a national Personal Injury Award last Thursday night.

Associate and Solicitor Dianne Collins fought off tough competition from across the country to win ‘Claimant Lawyer of the Year’ at the event in Manchester.

Dianne joined Nelsons’ Derby office in 2012 and is a specialist in historical child abuse claims. Among many other cases, Dianne is currently representing 78 survivors of the Aston Hall abuse scandal.

Now in its 12th year, the awards celebrate the excellence of individuals, teams and organisations specialising in the personal injury sector.

Dianne said: “Just being shortlisted for the award was a real honour so to walk away successful is incredible. Abuse Claims are part of a niche and complex area of law, and I help my clients by giving them a voice, empowering and enabling them to take back control and move forward with their lives.”

Lisa Preece, Head of the Personal Injury team, said: “We’re extremely proud of Dianne for winning this award – it’s an amazing achievement and shows the excellent work she does for clients.

“Abuse claims are a very specialist area of law and Dianne’s work is vital in supporting those who have experienced life-changing mental and physical injuries. Dianne has extensive knowledge in this area and this award shows that she is the very best in our sector nationwide.”

The award win is Dianne’s second of the year, having also picked up the ‘Lawyer of the Year’ award at the Derby and District Law Society Awards.

Stewart Vandermark, chief executive at Nelsons, said: “I’d like to congratulate Dianne on her second win of the year. For her to have won both awards is a real testament to the hard work and dedication she puts into her cases and clients. She has truly lived out Nelsons’ passion to empower our clients in a difficult area of law.”

For more information about Nelsons, please visit: or call 0800 024 1976.

For highlights from this year’s personal injury awards please visit: