Finalists announced for Chamber’s Enterprising Women awards

Finalists have been announced in the annual quest to find the most successful and inspirational business women in the East Midlands. The top 34 candidates have been picked from dozens of nominations for this year’s Enterprising Women awards.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 2 March, at Winstanley House, Leicester. The date is chosen to tie in with International Women’s Day, which is on 8 March this year.

In the twenty-first year of Enterprising Women, there are seven awards up for grabs – Business Woman of the Year, Social Commitment, Apprentice of the Year, Female Employee of the Year, Female Entrepreneur of the Year, Team of the Year and Small Business of the Year.

Co-Chair or Enterprising Women, Eileen Richards, founder of ER Recruitment, Leicester, and a member of the Board of Directors at East Midlands Chamber*, said: “The standard of entries has been, once again, very high this year.

“I think there is a real hunger among women in the business community to be recognised for their achievements and these awards – now celebrating 21 years – are one of the best ways to achieve that recognition.”

Co-Chair Jean Mountain, a Past President at East Midlands Chamber, said: “By highlighting their contribution and telling their stories, hopefully we can inspire other women to pursue their business dream.”

Sponsors for this year’s Enterprising Women awards are Pick Everard (headline sponsor), B Audio Visual, CBA Business Solutions, Derby College, Leicester Racecourse, Leicester Tigers, Purpose Media, PwC and Smallman & Son, with Mercia Image Print as print sponsor and Koobr as design sponsor.

This year’s finalists are:

Social Commitment Award – Sponsored by Leicester Racecourse

  • NWG Network
  • Loates HR
  • G Wathall & Son
  • Rothera Sharp

Apprentice of the Year – Sponsored by Derby College

  • Jordan Hind – AIM Awards
  • Amber Nicholson – Aesseal
  • Sameena Iftikhar – GEM Vending
  • Amia Reid – Wildgoose Construction
  • Chloe Parker – Wildgoose Construction

Female Employee of the Year – Sponsored by Smallman & Sons

  • Rachel Markham – Charity Link
  • Carol Dixon – Roundhouse Corporate at Derby College
  • Charlotte Sanders – College Court Conference Centre and Hotel
  • Wendy Walker – Fidler and Pepper Solicitors
  • Aarti Raj – Pick Everard

Female Entrepreneur of the Year – Sponsored by PWC

  • Jill Evenden – EBS Chartered Accountants
  • Sandra Wiggins – DPI UK
  • Amanda Daly – Dalycom – The Turnaround CEO
  • Lyndsey Hunt – Serious Zhuzh
  • Rosin Johnson – Magenta Iris

Team of the Year – Sponsored by Leicester Tigers

  • Rhubarb Farm
  • Brighter Directions
  • Pick Everard
  • Ridge and Partners
  • Glynis Wright & Co Family Solicitors and Mediators

Small Business of the Year – Sponsored by CBA Business Solutions

  • Mercia Image Print
  • Kingswell Support Service
  • G Wathall & Son
  • Heart Security
  • Penny Price Aromatherapy

Business Woman of the Year – Sponsored by Pick Everard

  • Marion Plant – North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College
  • Helen Wathall – G Wathall & Son Ltd
  • Ellie Dunmore – Penny Price Aromatherapy
  • Glynis Wright – Glynis Wright & Co Family Solicitors and Mediators
  • Emma Brealey – Petwood Hotel

*East Midlands Chamber (Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire)



Read more news stories in
AwardsFeatured ArticlesEast Midlands